Snap-Diddly-Chit-Chatter-Chat

What is all of the Snap-chit-chatter-chat all about? A question I have been thinking about for a while know. I was always of the mindset that it was an app that was being used for more provocative less productive social interactions.

After I finished a little reading on teens and social media, I started to gain a better understanding about why they are all utilizing Snapchat as opposed to Facebook for social media interactions. People are wanting more in the moment types of interactions with their friends, plain and simple.

Facebook is a great social media app where you can go to see what people have been up to over the past day…month….year….years. It is the ultimate timeline app that is a virtually a public diary/journal. It is a great way to keep up with friends and family that you would not see on a regular basis.

Why would a teen not want to use Facebook though? Family is on it….they do not want their grandmother to see what they are posting on a friends timeline. I am friends with my grandmother, mother, father, mother in-law, father in-law, etc., etc…. There are some postings I do not intend for them to read, comment on, or like and they are usually the first ones to. EVERYTHING is very PUBLIC on Facebook! This is where apps such as Messenger and Snapchat come into play. I know what messenger is all about, one on one conversation with anyone. But I had no Idea what Snapchat was utilized for. Here is a great Buzzfeed article that gives a good beginners tutorial about all of the Snapchat lingo.

A couple of days ago I decided to start an account on Snapchat. at first it was a bit of a chore trying to navigate around the app….but lets face it, what app isn’t at first?!?! I started by creating a username, ascottwilly, first step done. Then I took a picture and sent it to a buddy of mine, nothing to write home about really….. but then I found out how to have your face scanned and how to utilize the different graphic goofy features. Not only was I sucked in but I had a blast playing around with those settings with my 5 year old and my 1 year old. They especially liked the feature with the dog ears and nose and whenever they opened their mouth a huge tongue would come out and lick the screen. This was an example of the many different hilarious attributes available, and they update daily.  Another quality I especially like is that I can take a photo or video and send it to only the people I want to see it and it only lasts for 10 seconds and they have the ability to see it once more. It is the ultimate way to check in with a buddy and not have to broadcast it to a network of other friends and family. The last attribute I liked is your story where you can take a photo or video throughout your day and add it to your story. any of your friends can see them over a 24 hour period and then they disappear. Ultimately it is a great place to be creative and goofy and you can share these moments and messages with one person, a couple people or your network-you have a choice and people like that option.

Teens are interested in what people are doing NOW and they want a creative outlet in which they can communicate with anyone at the snap of a chat!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in EC&I 831. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snap-Diddly-Chit-Chatter-Chat

  1. Nathan Bromm says:

    Adam, I had some of the same assumptions about Snapchat and I’m glad you’ve taken the plunge to experience Snachat first hand. You’ve encouraged me to give it a try. I really like the idea about living in the moment and sharing our daily stories in a quick and easy way. I think the challenge is finding a technology/ social media tool that doesn’t prevent living in the moment, but enhances it. Perhaps that is Snapchat?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Facebook too big for teens! | Nathan Bromm

Leave a Reply

